The Market

When I first told my friends and people that I know that I was coming to london they all immediately told me be careful!” You are so brave!” people would say. Following to this orientation was full of these type of advices. I even got an panic alarm as a gift for my trip. When I got here many people told me don’t go to places like Brixton it’s quite scary and “sketchy” in my mind I imagine horrible things but I decided I needed to go to experienced it myself. What I found is that it’s just a community of traders that are working for their community, they told me “The community and local people are at the heart of all our markets” This community has a half Hispanic and African community and what I have realized that doesn’t matter where in the world you are, there will always be judgement about our ethnicity. My pictures are trying to reflect how these comments would look like if they were real. With bright colors I am trying to reflect the exaggeration and the public judgement.

Leave a comment